Google Shared Drives | What are shared drives | Share Drives

google-shared-drives

Google Shared Drives : In Google Drive, shared drives are unique folders that you can use to store, find, and access files with a team. Files on a shared drive are owned by the team, not an individual. Files stay in the shared drive even when team members leave, allowing your team to continue sharing information and working from any location and device.

Create a shared drive and add members

You’re logged into your personal account and only approved work or school accounts are eligible for shared drives:

  1. On your computer, go to drive.google.com.
  2. On the left, click Shared drives.
  3. At the top left, click New.
  4. Enter a name for the shared drive.
  5. Click Create.

Create a shared drive.

Who you can add to a shared drive

Anyone in your company can be added as a member of the shared drive.

If your company allows it, you can add outside people to a shared drive, as long as they have a Google Account email address. Any content that a third party adds (such as by editing, creating, or uploading a file) to a shared drive set up by a member of your organization becomes the property of your company.

You can only add users with audience access if their Google Workspace edition doesn’t include Shared Drive. Still, depending on the folder permissions, you may be able to allow them to comment or change particular files on the shared drive.

What members can do at different access levels

When users connect to a shared drive, you can set their access level:

  • If you can, give access to a collaboration manager or content manager to give you more freedom to collaborate on files in a shared drive.
  • Give at least content management access to members who need access to modify files in the Chrome OS Files app or Google Drive for desktop.
  • If users are concerned about erasing data from a shared drive, provide access to contributors, commenters or viewers. They are unable to delete the files.

google-shared-drive-permission

* Contributor access only grants read access to files in Google Drive for desktop or in the Chrome OS Files app. Give the user Content manager or Manager permission to create, upload, and edit files in a shared folder in Google folder for desktop and Chrome OS.

**Content managers cannot share folders without the permission of the administrator or manager.

Add members to a shared drive

Add members to a shared drive

Requires Manager access

  1. On your computer, go to drive.google.com.
  2. In the left column, click Shared drives and double-click one of your shared drives.
  3. At the top, click Manage members.
  4. Add names, email addresses, or a Google Group.
    • By default, new members will be Content managers. They can upload, edit, move, or delete all files.
  5. To change the role for a new member, select a role from the dropdown.
  6. To choose to notify new members of their access, click Notify people.
  7. Click Send.

Add members to a team drive.

Change a member’s access to a shared drive

Requires Manager access

  1. On the left, click a shared drive.
  2. At the top, next to the shared drive name, click the Down arrow ""and thenManage members.
  3. Next to a member’s name, click the Down arrow "" and select a new access level.
  4. Click Done.

Set access levels for members.

See members of a shared drive

  1. On the left, click a shared drive.
  2. Under the shared drive name, click the number of members.

Email members of a shared drive

  1. On your computer, go to drive.google.com.
  2. At the left, click Shared drives and double-click one of your shared drives.
  3. At the top, next to the name of your shared drive click the Down arrow Down arrow.
  4. Click Email Members.
  5. Enter your message and click Send.
Email members of a shared drive.

Remove members of a shared drive

Requires Manager access

Members who are Managers can change what other members can do.

  1. On your computer, go to drive.google.com.
  2. At the left, click Shared drives and double-click one of your shared drives.
  3. At the top, next to the name of your shared drive, click the Down arrow Down arrow.
  4. Click Manage members.
  5. To the right of the person you want to change, click the Down arrow Down arrow.
  6. Select a role or Remove.
  7. Click Save.

Remove members.

Delete a shared drive

Tip: If you aren’t ready to delete a shared drive, but you aren’t actively using it, you can hide it. Hiding a shared drive removes it from your view. See Best practices for shared drives.

Before you can delete a shared drive:

  • The shared drive has to be empty
  • You need to be a Manager of the shared drive.

Requires Manager access

  1. On your computer, go to drive.google.com.
  2. On the left, click Shared drives.
  3. Right-click the shared drive you want to delete.
  4. Click Delete shared drive.

To empty a shared drive before you delete it, put the files in the trash or move them to “My Drive.”

Delete shared drive.

Leave a Comment